The University of Trás-os-Montes and Alto Douro is structured around two models of teaching and research organisational units which enjoy scientific, pedagogical and administrative autonomy, i.e. four university-type schools and one polytechnic school.

The university-type schools (School of Agrarian and Veterinary Sciences, School of Human and Social Sciences, School of Science and Technology, School of Life and Environmental Sciences) are organisational units aimed at carrying out continuous teaching and research activities, the transfer of science and technology, the dissemination of culture and the provision of specialised services.

The polytechnic School of Health is an organisational unit focusing on the creation, transmission and dissemination of culture and professional knowledge through the linkage of study, teaching, targeted research and experimental development.