Foto: Honoris Causa

The title of Doctor Honoris Causa by the University of Trás-os-Montes and Alto Douro has been awarded to eminent personalities who are distinguished by their life’s career, or scientific cultural, political, economic or civic activity. They contribute to the prestige and aggrandisement of these activities, but also to the recognition of the University’s focus on the major themes of society and its players.

In this spirit, UTAD is proud of its panel of Honoris Causa Doctors, which includes such personalities as Franciscus Maria Lubbers (former Prime Minister of the Netherlands), António Lobo Antunes (writer), Wei Zhao (Rector of the University of Macau), Francisco Javier Olazabal (businessman), Manoel de Oliveira (filmmaker), Luís Valente de Oliveira (academician, former Chairman of CCDR-N and former Government Minister), Luís Garcia Braga da Cruz (former Chairman of CCDR-N and Government Minister), João Rosas Nicolau de Almeida (oenologist), Fernando Santos (National Football Squad Manager) the Portuguese Olympic Committee, Miguel Cadilhe (former Government Minister) and Alberto Feijóo (President of the Galician Governement).